About EBR

East Border Region > About EBR

About East Border Region

Map of EBR

Map of EBR

The East Border Region (EBR) is a cross-border area located along the Dublin-Belfast corridor.

East Border Region Ltd is one of five local authority led cross border networks on the Ireland/Northern Ireland border. The East Border Region comprises ten local authorities, Newry and Mourne, Down and Banbridge District Councils, Armagh City and District Council, Craigavon, Ards and North Down Borough Councils in Northern Ireland and Louth, Monaghan and Meath County Councils in the Republic Of Ireland and has a total population of 826,000.

East Border Region was established in 1976 to promote innovative, cross border economic development in the areas of agriculture, Industry, Commerce and Tourism and to improve the living conditions and employment prospects of those living in the region. East Border Region was awarded the role of Implementing Body in the Ireland/Northern Ireland INTERREG IIIA Programme 2000-2006 and as a result successfully implemented approximately €25 million to genuine cross border projects across the region. At present East Border Region has been successful in securing approximately €15 million from the INTERREG IVA Programme.

East Border Region is a truly democratic, representative, transparent, multi skilled cross border organisation.


East Border Region traces its history from 1976 when Newry and Mourne District Council and Louth County Council first met to discuss a bridge link between Omeath in County Louth and Warrenpoint in County Down.

Other issues of common concern were aired at this meeting and it was agreed that both councils would meet on a regular basis to pursue these matters. Both Down District Council and Monaghan County Council joined the committee in 1978 and it officially became known as the East Border Region Committee.

Since that time the Committee has grown and developed. In the late 1990’s, Banbridge District Council and Craigavon Borough Council and in 2003 and 2005 Ards Borough Council and Armagh City and District Council respectively became members. Newest additions have been Meath County Council and North Down Borough Council in 2007.
In 2009 the East Border Region Committee became known as East Border Region Ltd.